Monk Punk/Shadow of Unknown is Here; First 2015 Writing $$ Received

The books are out!  After some past delays, the word came via Facebook from editor Aaron French:  “Pleased to officially announce the release of MONK PUNK and THE SHADOW OF THE UNKNOWN in OMINBUS edition [cf. January 2, et al.] from Hazardous Press!  504 pages of Lovecraftian goodness!  Featuring all of the original stories as well as 11 that are brand new to this edition, each centered MonkPunk2around the theme of monks and/or the surreal aspect of the unknown in weird fiction.*  Available in paperback and on Kindle. Stories from Gary A. Braunbeck, Stephen Mark Rainey, Richard Gavin, Willie Meikle, John R. Fultz, Joshua M. Reynolds, Gene O’Neill, James Dorr, Erik T. Johnson, Michael Bailey, Mike Lester, Glynn Owen Barrass, David West, Adrian Chamberlin, Jay Wilburn, K Trap Jones, PS Gifford, RB Payne, John Claude Smith, and much more!”  Available from Amazon in both print and Kindle editions and Amazon UK, more info can be found by pressing here, here, or here.

Then moving on to a different publisher, in today’s mailbox the year’s first mammoth payment has appeared — ah, the riches, the riches! — a royalty check for $2.56.  So maybe more like a very small mammoth, one that local cave cat Wednesday might mistake for a mouse, but it’s the principle (and other payments had been received from various publishers at the tail end of December, so it all adds up to at least the price of a reasonably loaded pizza**).  And it is nice that, even if only a few people buy a particular book in a particular quarter- or half-year, it does add up.  Readers tell other readers.  Books get lent.  More stories and poems get sold and the word gets out so, even if for most of us it doesn’t mean we’re quitting our day jobs, it does seem to me to be worth the effort!

 

*Or, as Amazon adds, “In the tradition of Steampunk, Cyberpunk, and Splatterpunk comes this new sub-strain of speculative fiction — MONK PUNK.  Twenty-three hard-hitting Monkpunk tales of fantasy, science fiction, and Lovecraftian horror.  Madness and the Mythos, the Surreal and the Sinister.  THE SHADOW OF THE UNKNOWN collects twenty-nine tales of horror inspired by H. P. Lovecraft and the element of the unknown in supernatural fiction.  Think your sanity can withstand the assault?”

 

**Or about one-third of a large bag of Cave Cat Chow.

Advertisements

  1. Where to spend your $2.56? But seriously, that’s a plus –and the more folks that buy ebooks, the better — yours, being the case in point! I’m sure you’ll have more serious riches as the year unfolds and continued success with ebook sales!

  2. Marge, thanks — and actually you may have contributed. Didn’t you buy a copy of I’M DREAMING OF A. . . . last quarter? 🙂




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


  • My Books

    (Click on image for more information)
  • Chapbooks

  • Poetry

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 1,018 other followers


%d bloggers like this: