Marketing Essay Now Up on The Writers’ Lens

My guest poet on “The Marketing Game” (cf. July 7) is now live on Teresa Schnellmann’s THE WRITERS’ LENS.  But other things have been happening too, including the cessation  of business, due to the tragic loss of one of its founders, of an up-and-coming publisher through which Teresa and I had been first introduced.  And so, in her announcement of the posting in that publisher’s newsletter, she added, of me, “I think some of his comments and suggestions are particularly important for us now, including:

“‘So not everyone’s going to publish a book, at least not right away, but we are in a sense members of a family, we writers and publishers and editors.  And when the time comes, it never hurts to have made connections.’”

This is a point I have made in the past, the idea of “family”  (cf. November 28 2012 re. my OPEN BOOK SOCIETY guest blog “To ‘Peds’ and Beyond:  Community and the Writer”), of contacts that last beyond the end of a particular writing or publishing project, that may bring about future opportunities — but may also come to extend beyond writing.  And other connections can be made too with, for example, today’s essay coming  itself as a result of Teresa’s interview of me on May 29.

In any event, to see today’s post on THE WRITERS’ LENS, click here, and if you’d like to reread (or see for the first time) Teresa’s and my May interview, the place to go for it is here.



  • My Books

    (Click on image for more information)
  • Chapbooks

  • Poetry

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 3,796 other subscribers