For A Winter Night’s Viewing, Ten Visually Heightened Horror Movies

Thus today’s e-tease:  Brendan Morrow, “10 Most Visually Stunning Horror Movies Ever” on WHATCULTURE.COM, courtesy of Mike Olson via Facebook’s ON THE EDGE CINEMA.  By contrast to most of these listey things, I think I’ve seen fully ninMV5BMTU3ODg2NjQ5NF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMDEwODgzMQ@@._V1_UY268_CR0,0,182,268_AL_e of them this time (and the one I haven’t only came out in 2015), though some now will bear re-watching.  Also, as noted on other lists of this sort, these are one reviewer’s opinion, but to his credit Morrow offers compelling reasons for his selections.  (Also, as he admits as well, just because they’re visually stunning it doesn’t necessarily mean these are all good films.  But other than Winona Ryder’s sneering her way through Coppola’s DRACULA, none are really bad movies either.)

Be all that as it may, one may check them out for oneself here.

  1. Apparently (and not surprisingly) I have missed a bunch of lesser-known movies (old ones) that would take your breath away for the cinematography. We did see Pan’s Labyrinth and I guess it was simply WOW but probably because the movie was so hyped and we were not impressed, I’d not put it on my list.

  2. Hey Marge, I just dug out my ancient VHS of SUSPERIA for a revisit. I also felt PAN’S LABYRINTH was a bit over-hyped at the time, but I may give it another look too sometime soon, with special attention just for the visual. (The picture at the top of Morrow’s article, incidentally, is also from SUSPERIA I think.)




Leave a Reply

  • My Books

    (Click on image for more information)
  • Chapbooks

  • Poetry

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 993 other followers


